2021 Math Department Prizewinners Announced

The 2021 Math Department awards recipients were announced at the annual department holiday party, held in person in the Statler ballroom.

Junior Faculty Teaching Awards were presented to Phil Sosoe and Katie Mann. Adrian Lewis and Tim Riley received Senior Faculty Teaching Awards. Graduate Teaching Awards went to Trevor Jones and Mark Walth.

The Hutchinson Fellowship was awarded to Andres Fernandez Herrero. The Bättig Prize was given to Brandon Shapiro and Nicki Magill. Rodrigo Horruitiner and David Mehrle received the York Award. The Torng Prize went to Prairie Wentworth-Nice.

Read more about each award here.

In addition to these awards, the Olivetti Egg was awarded to Chase Vogeli. This prize is given to the Olivetti Club speaker who gave the best talk, as determined by a vote among the grad students.

Last but not least, Gabe Udell was awarded for correctly guessing the exact number of plastic water bottles saved after a given number of days, as displayed on the water bottle refill fountain in Malott.

Congratulations to all the winners!

More news

View all news
An image of Chair Tara Holm with the faculty award winners, surrounded by photos of each grad student winner.