2019 Sloan Research Fellows Announced

Sat, 03/16/2019

The Sloan Fellowship is awarded to “…those who show the most outstanding promise of making fundamental contributions to new knowledge.”

Three of the 20 mathematics winners are connected to the Department.

Katie Mann, currently an Assistant Professor at Brown, will join us in the fall of 2019. Katie earned her Ph.D. at the University of Chicago under the direction of Benson Farb '89 in 2014. Her research is in topology, geometry, geometric group theory, and dynamics. This year Katie was also awarded an NSF CAREER award and the Association for Women in Mathematics Birman Research Prize in Topology and Geometry. 

After Florian Frick earned his Ph.D. at TU Berlin under the direction of John M. Sullivan, he joined Cornell as an H.C. Wang Professor from 2015 to 2018. He is now an Assistant Professor at Carnegie Mellon University. Florian works in combinatorics, developing new geometric and topological methods. He also received the Richard Rado-Preis in 2016, a Dissertation award of the German Mathematical Society for a thesis in discrete mathematics.
Tianyi Zheng earned her 2013 Cornell Ph.D. under the direction of Abram R. Bullis Professor Laurent Saloff-Coste. She is currently an Assistant Professor in the Department of Mathematics at UC San Diego. Tianyi’s primary research interests are in probability theory and geometric group theory. One focus of her work is analyzing random walks and harmonic functions on interesting families of groups. During her time as a Ph.D. student at Cornell, Tianyi won the Battig research prize in 2011 and the Liu Memorial Fellowship Award in the spring of 2013. 



Sloan Research Fellows 2019